Today was “Bring your Child to Work Day”.  They went all out and had a big to-do with Helicopters, Fire Trucks, Demo of Police Dogs etc on the parade field but my child was really too young for all that so I waited to bring him to my office until the afternoon..after naptime.  I actually ended up waking him up from his nap because I wanted to get to the office before the little reception they had planned for for the children of our office.  He started out very grumpy and I thought to myself this might be a mistake especially after his melt-down yesterday over me opening up his drink and taking a sip (that one lasted about 10 minutes of total screaming and crying).  I would have died if we had another one of those days in front of all my co-workers.  Of course I know they all understand because their children have been 3 but still……

But my fears were not realized.  He actually was very well behaved (most times) and we didn’t end up leaving till past my usual going home time.  He loved walking around the building and riding the elevators.  Everyone he met gave him candy and even a stuffed dog.  Plus he got a goody bag at the reception filled with candy and a plastic watch which he had to wear home.  He actually begged me later for us to go back….go figure…I never cry and beg to go back to work….hum?  Maybe they should start offering me candy and treats…..?

I think his afternoon wore him out though.  I’m on my own tonight since husband went to stay at his sick moms.  Little boy was very cooperative in getting his bath and actually said he was ready for bed.  Only down side was….our potty training was shot to heck today…oh well….start fresh tomorrow.